Franklin & Marshall College Franklin & Marshall College

Browse by

Subscribe to The Diplomat, an email digest of the latest F&M news

Email Address*
First name
Last name

Honoring Distinguished Service

Franklin & Marshall College honored some of its most dedicated employees for their outstanding service to the College during a ceremony on April 27 in the Barshinger Center for Musical Arts. Hundreds of people turned out to honor 25 retiring members of the faculty and professional staff and to recognize five individuals for 25 years of service to F&M.

President Daniel R. Porterfield and other senior officers presented the 30 honorees with gifts in recognition of their service to Franklin & Marshall. The senior officers read remarks in honor of each individual, highlighting their careers and the qualities that made them valued members of the F&M community. Joining Porterfield in congratulating the honorees on stage were Dean of the College Kent Trachte, Chief of Staff Sam Houser ’89, Vice President for Finance and Administration David Proulx, Director of Financial Aid Clarke Paine, Director of Admission Julie Kerich ’81 and Provost and Dean of the Faculty Ann Steiner.

  • Distinguished Service 2012
  • On April 29, Franklin & Marshall College honored 25 retiring members of the faculty and professional staff and recognized five individuals for 25 years of service to F&M. Pictured here, beginning in the front row from left, are honorees Sandra Atkins, Ellie Peifer, Krista Mattern, Jackie Rieker, Marilyn Groft Shaeffer, Peggy Bender, Kate Ness, Jill Simeral and Cookie Faust. In the back row, from left, are Gary Shaub, Kathy Missildine, Bob Whitehead, Penny Johnston, Marty Gordon, Linda Danner, Roger Godin, Kenneth Hess, Carl Pike, Harry Haddon, David Stameshkin, Paul Clark, Chris Swisher, Jan Sams, President Daniel R. Porterfield and Janey Weidman. (Photo by Marcy Dubroff)

The employees honored on the occasion of their retirement from the College included:

  • Sandra Atkins, Higher Education Data Sharing Consortium
  • Peggy Bender, academic department coordinator, History and American Studies
  • Paul Clark, director of enterprise systems and web services, Information Technology Services
  • Linda Danner, library operations coordinator, Shadek-Fackenthal Library
  • Cookie Faust, academic department coordinator, English
  • Marty Gordon, content services librarian, Shadek-Fackenthal Library
  • Marilyn Groft Shaeffer, human resources administrator
  • Bruce Gustafson, Charles A. Dana Professor of Music
  • Katherine Hockney, Advancement Services
  • Penny Johnston, director of international admission
  • Debby Linton, general ledger coordinator, Business Office
  • Krista Mattern, Alumni & Parent Relations
  • Kathy Missildine, executive assistant to the provost and dean of the faculty and to the Central Pennsylvania Consortium
  • Kate Ness, international programs coordinator
  • Ellie Peifer, registered nurse, Appel Health Services
  • Carl Pike, Harry W. and Mary B. Huffnagle Professor of Botany
  • Jackie Rieker, application software specialist, Information Technology Services
  • Jan Sams, academic department coordinator, Government
  • Gary Shaub, carpenter, Facilities & Operations
  • Jill Simeral, academic department coordinator and Roschel house manager, Theatre, Dance & Film
  • David Stameshkin, associate dean and prefect of Bonchek College House
  • Chris Swisher, director of desktop integration and support, Information Technology Services
  • James Taggert, Lewis Audenreid Professor of History and Archaeology
  • Janey Weidman, coordinator of financial aid and campus-based aid programs
  • Bob Whitehead, grounds supervisor, Facilities & Operations

The College also recognized five employees for 25 years of service:

  • Roger Godin, associate dean and prefect of Brooks College House
  • Harry Haddon, coordinator of applications development and evaluation, Information Technology Services
  • Kenneth Hess, professor of chemistry and associate dean for health professions advising
  • Benjamin McRee, professor of history
  • Dorothy Merritts, professor of geosciences