Student-Athletes Honored at Awards Luncheon

From GoDiplomats.com

Georgio Milligan ’12 and Becky Willert ’12 received the highest honors given to Franklin & Marshall senior athletes at the Department of Athletics & Recreation’s annual awards luncheon on April 30 in Mayser Gym. Milligan won the Garrigues Outstanding Senior Athlete Award, while Willert was honored with the Karvasales Outstanding Senior Athlete Award. The awards are given to the male and female senior athletes who display cumulative outstanding athletic and academic achievements over a four-year period.

  • Becky Willert ’12 (right) and Georgio Milligan ’12 received the highest honors given to Franklin & Marshall senior athletes at F&M’s annual athletics awards luncheon on April 30. (Photo courtesy of GoDiplomats.com)

Milligan received numerous postseason accolades after leading the men's basketball team to its third straight Centennial Conference (CC) title and a trip to the NCAA Elite Eight. He was honored as the DIII News National Player of the Year, NABC and D3Hoops.com Regional Player of the Year, and CC Player of the Year, and was voted a First Team All-American by the NABC for the second straight season. Milligan was a unanimous First Team All-CC selection and became the first player in conference history to earn First Team All-CC honors four times. He graduates as F&M's all-time leader in scoring for men's basketball with 1,932 points, is second in steals (282) and assists (628), and is third in blocked shots (140).

Willert became the first F&M field hockey player to win CC Player of the Year honors last fall. She led the CC in points (63) and goals (29). Willert closed out her career ranked first at F&M in game-winning goals (13), fourth in goals (48) and fifth in points (102). Willert helped F&M put together one of the best seasons in school history in 2011, as the Diplomats won a program-record 17 games, earned their first-ever CC regular season title and advanced to the NCAA Sweet 16.

David Balderston ’12 of the men's basketball team and Tanya Arora ’12 of the women's squash team were awarded the Student Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) Sportsmanship Award. The Sportsmanship Award is bestowed upon male and female athletes who have demonstrated consistently good sportsmanship and ethical behavior in their daily participation in intercollegiate athletics. They must also have demonstrated good citizenship outside of an athletic competition setting and be in good academic standing.

Scott Rownd ’12 of the men's swimming team and Claire Marshall ’12 of the women's track & field team were honored with the Delphic Student-Athlete Award, given to the male and female senior athletes with the highest cumulative grade point average at the conclusion of the fall semester.

Photos from the luncheon have been posted on the F&M Athletics Facebook page.

Story 10/4/2017

Campus farmer's market

The Center for the Sustainable Environment is starting a small farmer's market on campus to allow...

Read More
Story 10/4/2017

Assistant Professor Ryan Trainor Awarded Grant to Find Stars...

Assistant Professor Ryan Trainor received a two-year, $92,000 grant from the Space Telescope...

Read More
Story 9/28/2017

Clothing donation bin available on campus

F&M has partnered with CommunityAid to allow donations of gently used clothing and other items for...

Read More