Franklin & Marshall College Franklin & Marshall College

    • pentathlon5
    • weisgerber6
    • pentathlon3

Endowed Awards and Scholarships

Through the generosity of alumni and friends of the college, endowed awards and scholarships, dating back to 1912, have allowed students to broaden their college experience in a variety of ways. We are indebted to these charitable donors. A description of the scholarships, each of which is unique in its selection criterion, follows.

Willig Pentathlon Prize in Chemistry [established in 1912]

The oldest and most prestigious award in chemistry is awarded to the senior major who scores the highest on an exam covering five areas of chemistry: General, Analytical, Organic, Inorganic, and Physical. The student's name is placed on a plaque and the student receives the income from the endowment established by Herman Luther Willig.

Richard C. Schiedt Trust for Graduate Study [established in 1952]

The income from the trust is paid annually to a graduate of Franklin and Marshall College who has been accepted and is enrolled in post-graduate research work in a reputable college or university pursing a definite course in biology or chemistry.

Theodore Alexander Saulnier, Jr. Prize in Chemistry [established in 1977]

Established by Mrs. Marie Saulnier and her family to memorialize their late husband and father, the award is given each year to the student majoring in Chemistry who in the opinion of the faculty of the Department of Chemistry demonstrates an especially searching mind in probing the frontiers of the unknown.

Lucille and William Hackman Scholarships [established in 1984]

The Lucille and William Hackman Scholarships were endowed by William Hackman '39, a Chemistry alumnus, and his wife Lucille, to increase the opportunities for students to do summer research in chemistry. These opportunities have since been expanded to the entire campus and there are currently approximately 55 F&M students doing research each summer as Hackman Scholars.

Fred A. Snavely Research Fund [established in 1990]

Income from the fund created in honor of Professor Fred A. Snavely, '49 and Professor of Chemistry from 1952 to 1985, will be used to fund two annual student awards—the Snavely Academic Year Research Award and the Snavely Summer Research Award.  The award recognizes Professor Snavely's dedication to excellence in teaching and research within the department.

    Fred A. Snavely Academic Year Research Award

     The Fred A. Snavely Academic Year Research Award is granted to a senior     chemistry major who has previously participated in summer undergraduate research at F&M and has shown a commitment to chemistry through both academic achievements and the quality of research.  The award allows the recipient to pursue research during the senior academic year and is based on a review by the faculty of previous research reports. Selection criteria:

  1. a written report from the most recent summer research associated with F&M must be submitted by the research director for all faculty members of the department to read. This report must include a discussion of future goals of the project that will be addressed in CHM 490.
  2. A student will be nominated for the Snavely Award by the faculty research director when the director submits the written report to the department for review at the beginning of the fall semester.
  3. To be eligible for the Snavely Award, a student must be registered for CHM 490 (CHM 390 is not acceptable.)  Selection of the award recipient from the pool of nominees will be accomplished by written preferential ballot.

     Fred A. Snavely Summer Research Award

     The Fred A. Snavely Summer Research Award is granted to a junior chemistry major who has previously participated in undergraduate research in the department during the summer or academic year. The award allows the recipient to pursue research during the summer prior to the senior year. The key criterion for the award is evaluation of a formal student report, submitted to the department by the research director at the first chemistry staff meeting of the spring semester, describing the goals and results of prior research and projecting objectives of the anticipated summer research.  All chemistry faculty members will read the student research report, and final selection of the award recipient will be determined by preferential written ballot.


Moore-Schaeffer Mentorship Award [established in 1996]

Created by W. Scott Moore, M.D. '74, to attract highly qualified students interested in Chemistry to the Department, and supported by Dr. Charles D. Schaeffer, Jr. '70.  The candidates are selected by Dr. Moore's and Dr. Schaeffer's research mentor, Dr. Claude H. Yoder, and receive up to $2500 for four weeks of research before beginning classes at F&M.  It is expected that these students will major in Chemistry and continue doing research throughout their four years here.

Annie and Ernest Weibrecht Endowed Scholarship Fund [established in 2002]

The award is given to a rising F&M senior of high academic standing majoring in a natural science with a significant chemistry focus.  This award is to be used to enhance the educational experience of students in chemistry during their undergraduate years, and, if applicable, through the summer following their senior year.  Walter E. Weibrecht, Ph.D. '59 and his partner, David W. Garside, together with Ernest C. Weibrecht and his wife, Gail M. Weibrecht, have established this scholarship to honor Walter and Ernest's parents, Ernest and Annie Weibrecht.

Claude H. Yoder, Ph.D., ’62 Student Research Fund [established in 2007]

The award was established in recognition of Professor Yoder’s continuing dedication and service to students, colleagues, basic research, chemical education and the College. Income from this fund will be used annually to provide a chemistry student, who has an exemplary academic record, with a summer stipend for chemistry research and support for travel to a professional meeting during the academic year.  The recipients, who will be known as Yoder Research Scholars, will be selected by the Chair of the Chemistry Department in consultation with Professor Yoder.

Fred Suydam Research Fund [established in 2008]

Established as a tribute to Professor Fred Suydam '46 by his friends and students, income from the fund is awarded annually to a Chemistry student with demonstrable interest in research to support their summer research.  The award recognizes Professor Suydam's dedication to excellence in teaching and research within the department and his 12 year service to the department as Chair.