Franklin & Marshall College Franklin & Marshall College

    • dipcon2013
    • classpresidents2014
    • dipconeboard2013

The Diplomatic Congress

The Diplomatic Congress is the central student government of Franklin & Marshall College, bringing together student leaders from every area of campus life for the common purpose of making the F&M student experience the best it can be. The Congress was formed in 2008 to coincide with the new structural model through the College House system. It replaces the former Student Congress whose origin traces to the turn of the 20th Century.

Mission Statement

The purpose of this congress is to unite student organizations under one body to create a powerful student body voice. This should bring all members of the Franklin & Marshall College community to incorporate the interests of all students in an open environment. The goal of this body is to encourage communication and cohesion among subsidiaries while respecting their individuality and autonomy. This overaching organization is meant to serve as an advocacy body as well as a means to facilitate programming among pre-established organizations.


The Diplomatic Congress is composed of four elected Officers, the President, Vice President, Secretary, and Treasurer, and a General Assembly composed of:

  • First-Year, Sophomore, Junior and Senior Class Presidents
  • Representatives of Boncheck, Brooks, Ware, Weis, and New College Houses
  • Public Relations Officer
  • President of the Student Athletic Advisory Council
  • Presidents of the Inter-Fraternity Council and PanHellenic Council
  • Student Health and Safety Chair
  • Student and Postgraduate Development Chair
  • Sustainability Chair
  • Community Outreach Chair
  • Academic Life Chair
  • Chair of the College Entertainment Committee
  • Chair of the Club Council

The Congress is advised by Kelly Kennedy '03, Director of College Programs