Dip Tips http://www.fandm.edu/diptips Wed, 01 Oct 2014 11:53:00 -0400 en <![CDATA[October Tip: To ED or not to ED?”]]> http://www.fandm.edu/diptips/article/october-tip-to-ed-or-not-to-ed

At F&M, we want to help demystify the Early Decision (ED) option so you can make the right choice for you and your family. Here are some tips to help you determine if Early Decision is right for you.

]]>
Wed, 01 Oct 2014 11:53:00 -0400
<![CDATA[September Tip: What’s with the Letter of Recommendation?]]> http://www.fandm.edu/diptips/article/september-tip-what-s-with-the-letter-of-recommendation

The Letter of Recommendation is an important way for colleges to verify you are a strong student and have the intangible qualities for future academic success.  This month, we help you submit letters of recommendation that will have the greatest impact.  

]]>
Mon, 01 Sep 2014 11:50:00 -0400
<![CDATA[August Tip: The Ins and Outs of Interviewing]]> http://www.fandm.edu/diptips/article/august-tip-the-ins-and-outs-of-interviewing

A college interview is a great way to showcase your strengths as an applicant. It also allows a college to get to know “the real you.” This month, we’ll give you some tips on how to make a great impression and maximize the interview experience.

]]>
Fri, 01 Aug 2014 11:47:00 -0400
<![CDATA[July Tip: Writing the Perfect College Essay]]> http://www.fandm.edu/diptips/article/july-tip-writing-the-perfect-college-essay

Why is it that merely mentioning “college essay” strikes fear in the hearts of high school seniors? This month, we’ll help you break down the writing process into manageable steps and help take the stress out of it.

]]>
Tue, 01 Jul 2014 11:44:00 -0400
<![CDATA[June Tip: The College Application Process: A Family Affair]]> http://www.fandm.edu/diptips/article/june-tip-the-college-application-process-a-family-affair

Family members can be a helpful resource in the college application process, but they can also be a distraction. This month's Dip Tip will help you and your family work together to get the most out of your collective efforts.

]]>
Sun, 01 Jun 2014 10:59:00 -0400
<![CDATA[May Tip: The Value of a College Visit]]> http://www.fandm.edu/diptips/article/may-tip-the-value-of-a-college-visit

A campus visit is a great way to learn if a college is a good match for you. This month, we'll give you some tips on how to maximize your college visit experience. If you can't visit, we'll also detail ways to gain in-depth knowledge about a college from home.

]]>
Thu, 23 May 2013 11:58:00 -0400