Franklin & Marshall College Franklin & Marshall College

From the Chair of the Board of Trustees Investment Committee

  • John L. Rosenthal ’82
  • John L. Rosenthal ’82

I’m pleased to present the 2013-2014 Franklin & Marshall Fund Mid-Year Investment Report.

Generous donations from alumni, parents and others within the F&M family help to create truly remarkable opportunities for our students, including groundbreaking work with our faculty and a broad range of activities in and outside the classroom.

A few of this year’s many highlights:
  • During the summer of 2013, 75 Hackman Scholars worked on research-related projects with 43 F&M faculty members.
  • The Centennial Conference Champion and NCAA DIII quarterfinalist F&M men’s soccer team (17-4-2) continues its life-changing Soccer Africa project, an outreach and education effort in Khayelitsha Township, Cape Town, South Africa.
  • The student-led group Impulso worked to provide solar ovens to Guatemalan families, a life-changing gift to those who received them. Impulso is part of F&M’s Human Rights Initiative, a College organization dedicated to raising awareness of and identifying solutions to challenges facing underrepresented groups.

As Chair of the Board of Trustees Investment Committee, I work closely with the College to produce the greatest possible impact from our endowment. However, I am also keenly aware of the great impact of Franklin & Marshall Fund gifts of all sizes.

Giving to the Franklin & Marshall Fund through the halfway point of the year totaled more than $2.2 million — the equivalent of the output of more than $44 million in endowed funds. Our FY2014 goal is to raise $4.75 million — equal to the amount generated by $95 million in endowed funds!

Please support the Franklin & Marshall Fund this year. As you’ll read in the following pages, the Franklin & Marshall Fund continues to play a vital role in keeping the vision of our founders alive for today’s high-achieving students and in securing it for the future.

Yours sincerely,

John L. Rosenthal ’82
Chair, Board of Trustees Investment Committee