Franklin & Marshall College Franklin & Marshall College

Phi Sigma Pi

    • phi sigma pi installation
    • PSP Table
    • PSP table 2
  • Previous
  • Next
On February 14, 1916, Phi Sigma Pi was founded at State Teachers College at Warrensburg, Missouri. The three founders, Dr. Eldo L. Hendricks, Dr. Claude A. Phillips, and Dr. Clarence H. McClure, decided that Phi Sigma Pi would stress not only scholarship, leadership, and fellowship, but also do so in a concept of a tripod dedicated equally to these three ideals. In 1966, Phi Sigma Pi became Phi Sigma Pi National Honor Fraternity, open to all academic majors. In 1977, the National Constitution was amended to admit eligible women, making Phi Sigma Pi a co-educational fraternity.
In the spring of 2010, Phi Sigma Pi joined the Greek system at Franklin and Marshall College, admitting enthusiastic students who want to be involved on campus. In the past semester, they've sponsored numerous scholarly events, such as the biweekly Knowledge Hours, where members learned about topics ranging from making Onigiri to promoting sustainability. They have supported Teach for America with a School Supply Drive, and once a month, the members enjoyed coffee and deserts at the Other Room Theater while getting to know one another. This chapter of Phi Sigma Pi encourages academic excellence and curiosity while strengthening the bonds of fellowship that tie members together

Colors: Purple and Gold

Philanthropy: Teach for America

Motto: Discover your potential. Learn. Inspire. Lead.




President: Ryan Brenner ()
Vice President: Alexia Tomlinson ()
Secretary: Vania Loper ()
Treasurer: Nathaniel Moldoff ()
Historian: Ryan von Kleeck ()
Parliamentarian: Brenna Snyder ()
Initiate Advisors: Emily Ray () & Christine Potts


Rush: Alex Hawkins () & Andrew Glunk ()

See listed below Phi Sigma Pi seniors that were recognized or received awards for their achievements:

Katlyn May: The Environmental Studies Award, Magna Cum Laude, Dana Scholar, Klein Scholar, Phi Beta Kappa Honor Society, Pi Gamma Mu National Social Science Honor Society, Black Pyramid Senior Honor Society

Allison Strohm: The Dance Award for Achievement in Choreography

Mandy Tsang: Alpha Kappa Delta National Sociology Honor Society

Ning He: Black Pyramid Senior Honor Society, John Marshall Pre-Law Honor Society, Phi Beta Kappa Honor Society

Adam Parr: Gamma Kappa Alpha Italian Honor Society

Elisabeth Power: John Marshall Pre-Law Honor Society, Pi Sigma Alpha Political Science Honor Society

Anna Dean: Phi Beta Kappa Honor Society

Deborah Schmidt: Phi Beta Kappa Honor Society, Sigma Pi Sigma National Physics Honor Society

Talbot Taylor: Pi Delta Phi National French Honor Society