Franklin & Marshall College Franklin & Marshall College

Blackboard Policies - Archiving Courses

ITS will "batch archive" the entire Blackboard system at the end of each semester (fall, spring, and summer). The batch archive creates a permanent record of all course content and user information including grades and assignments. The archived data will be stored in a secure location. Archived data which is four years old may be deleted from the archives as part of archives maintenance.

 Why an Archive Policy?
The Blackboard automated student management system will purge students from a course at the end of each semester (fall, spring, and summer). The archive will capture the courses prior to student removal from the Blackboard courses. This policy was approved as permanent by the Committee on Academic Technology (CAT) in March, 2009.

 Blackboard Course Archive Procedure

  • After the end of each semester, faculty will be notified of the scheduled batch archive maintenance. This batch archive will include archiving all courses.
  • Archived data which is four years old may be deleted from the archives as part of archives maintenance.
  • If faculty would like to view a course from a previous semester, the Blackboard Administrator will assist in restoring that course.

Note: Faculty will be given advance notice of the course archive process via Blackboard system announcements.

For more information on the Blackboard course archive policy, contact the  at