5/10/2013 Peter Durantine

F&M Honors Seniors, Including First Dick Winters '41 Leadership Award Winner

  • sa3 Steven O'Day, senior associate Dean of the College, congratulates Bryan Stabbe '13 for winning Franklin & Marshall's inaugural Major Dick Winters '41 Award for Perseverance and Leadership. The award, presented during the Senior Awards Ceremony May 10 at the Ann & Richard Barshinger Center for the Musical Arts, honors an outstanding student leader from the year's graduating class. (Photo by Melissa Hess)

Franklin & Marshall College honored dozens of graduating seniors, including the recipient of the inaugural Dick Winters '41 Award for Perseverance and Leadership, at the Senior Awards Ceremony Friday, May 10.

The Winters Award -- named for the F&M alumnus whose World War II leadership was documented in Stephen Ambrose's 1992 book "Band of Brothers" and subsequent HBO miniseries -- was presented to Bryan Stabbe '13. In his four years at F&M, Stabbe has served as president of Ware College House Parliament and held leadership roles in a variety of campus organizations, including Phi Kappa Psi and Club Council.

F&M established the award to honor Winters' legacy and to recognize a student who has exhibited the strength of character, the quality of perseverance and the skill of leadership that defined Winters.

In 2012, a monument was dedicated to Winters on the causeway to Utah Beach. To date, he is the only American soldier so honored. Stephen Spears, the sculptor who created the major's monument on Utah Beach, designed the medal for F&M's Winters award.

The ceremony, held in F&M's Ann & Richard Barshinger Center for the Musical Arts, also included the presentation of several awards to honor seniors who have made significant contribution to various aspects of the College. The award winners were:

  • Erik Mariani '13 (Mr. & Mrs. Lanious B. Keiper Prize)
  • Andrew Foley '13 and Alexis Teevens '13 (Phi Beta Kappa Scholarship Awards)
  • Amanda Loh '13 (Thomas Gilmore Apple Award)
  • Akbar Hossain 13 and Amanda Loh '13 (Alice Distler Award)
  • Alexis Teevens ’13 (Muhlenberg Goodwill Award)
  • Andrew Foley '13 and Akbar Hossain '13 (Benjamin D. Peralta Award)
  • Akbar Hossain '13 and Alexis Teevens '13 (Stanley Craig Memorial Award)

Dozens of other students received academic department awards during the ceremony, which included a performance by the Fellowship of the Strings, a quartet of senior musicians who have performed together for four years: Andrew Glennan '13, who wrote the piece the group premiered at the awards ceremony; Leslie Lindeman '13; Alexandra Moody '13; and Sarah Patterson '13.

View a complete list of award winners here.

  • sa2 Friends and family members cheer on Franklin & Marshall College seniors during F&M's Senior Awards Ceremony May 10 at the Ann & Richard Barshinger Center for the Musical Arts. (Photo by Melissa Hess)
Story 7/31/2015

Rolling Into A Rewarding Summer Internship

Mark Rooney '17  spends the summer in Lancaster interning with The Common Wheel, a bike shop that...

Read More
Story 7/27/2015

A Garden for Pollinators and Research

Where grass once grew adjacent to Franklin & Marshall College's epicenter of sustainability, a...

Read More
Story 7/21/2015

LiveSafe: A Phone App To Enhance Campus Safety

In an ongoing effort to ensure the safety and well-being of its students and community members,...

Read More