Young and Talented

The eighth annual Emerging Writers Festival at Franklin & Marshall College is a three-day celebration, from April 15 to 17, of the work of talented and promising younger American writers.

Each year, the festival brings five young writers to campus for readings, craft workshops and informal conversation. All events are free and open to the public.

“A few years ago, someone described the festival as a mini-bread loaf, and that’s the way we think of it. It’s a top-notch three-day workshop for writers that we create by hand. It’s a homemade bread loaf,” said Kerry Sherin Wright, director of the Philadelphia Alumni Writers House.

This year, the College welcomes nonfiction writer Jaed Coffin, poets Katie Hays and Shane McCrae, cartoonist Dash Shaw and fiction writer Laura van den Berg.

McCrae and Coffin will hold a reading of their works on Wednesday, April 15, at 8 p.m. in the Green Room Theatre.

The Writers House will host craft workshops on Thursday, April 16 with van den Berg from 9:30 to 10:20 a.m., with McCrae from 10:30 to 11:20 a.m. and with Coffin from 4:30 to 5:30 p.m.

That evening at 8 p.m., in the Green Room Theatre, van den Berg and Hays will offer a reading of their work. Shaw will also present his graphic novel.

The Writers House will host a craft workshop on Friday, April 17, with Shaw from 10 to 11 a.m. and with Hays from 11:15 a.m. to 12:15 p.m.

A panel discussion will be held at the Writers House featuring the five emerging writers at 1:30 p.m., followed by a barbecue at 3:30 p.m.

The Emerging Writers Festival is generously supported by Richard ’50 and Edna Hausman P’86 and supporters of the arts at the College.

The Festival is a program of the English department, and is produced each year by a committee comprising faculty members and students.

This year’s committee included Dave Bleecker ’11, Bridget Brennan ’09, Meagan Cooney ’10, Christina Fortin ’09, Adam Gould ’10, Brian Hughes ’09, Madison Kille ’11, Kelsey MacArthur ’09, Julia Mitchell ’10 and Sam Price ’09. Faculty members on the committee are: Katie Ford, assistant professor of English; Sands Hall, visiting professor of English; Amy Moreno, Ware House prefect; Brian Silberman, associate professor of Theater, Dance & Film; Sherin Wright; and Jeff Steinbrink, Alumni Professor of English & American Belles Lettres.

Story 7/21/2016

The Latest Step in Campus Sustainability is a Big One

Atop the flat roof of Franklin & Marshall College's Center for the Sustainable Environment, the...

Read More
Story 7/20/2016

F&M Poll's Madonna Says 2016 Presidential Election is Quirky...

Before Democrat Hillary Clinton and Republican Donald Trump take the stage at their respective...

Read More
Story 7/5/2016

Conditioning a Computer to Make the Right Decisions

While it sounds counterintuitive – making wrong predictions to learn good decision-making – that is...

Read More