News http://www.fandm.edu/news Thu, 20 Nov 2014 16:12:00 -0500 en <![CDATA[We Can Stop 'Ocean Apocalypse' Now, Scientist Says]]> http://www.fandm.edu/news/article/we-can-stop-ocean-apocalypse-now-scientist-says

Jeremy Jackson, senior scientist emeritus at the Smithsonian Institution and professor of oceanography at the Scripps Institution of Oceanography, delivered a sobering message about the declining state of the world's oceans to members of the Franklin & Marshall community attending Common Hour Nov. 20.

]]>
Thu, 20 Nov 2014 16:12:00 -0500
<![CDATA[Connecting Disciplines Through Innovative Instruction (VIDEO)]]> http://www.fandm.edu/news/article/connecting-disciplines-through-innovative-instruction-video

Business, Organizations and Society blends business studies with liberal arts disciplines by using innovative learning methods, such as digital storytelling -- the practice of using computer-based tools to tell stories. A short video provides a glimpse of Professor of Legal Studies Jeffrey Nesteruk's teaching and his students' use of digital storytelling.

]]>
Thu, 20 Nov 2014 15:31:40 -0500
<![CDATA[The Passions of a Professor: Mentoring, Science and Music]]> http://www.fandm.edu/news/article/the-passions-of-a-professor-mentoring-science-and-music As a Franklin & Marshall College student in the late 1950s and early '60s, Claude Yoder spent hours in the Fackenthal laboratories doing chemistry research under the mentorship of the late…]]> Wed, 19 Nov 2014 10:46:00 -0500 <![CDATA[Gender and Human Rights Experts Kick Off Feminist Dialogue Series]]> http://www.fandm.edu/news/article/gender-and-human-rights-experts-kick-off-feminist-dialogue-series Two leading scholars in the fields of human rights and gendered violence, Elora Chowdhury and Amy Den Ouden, will be on campus Nov. 20 to launch the Alice Drum Women's Center Feminist Dialogue Series.

]]>
Wed, 19 Nov 2014 09:01:00 -0500
<![CDATA[Dance Performance Reflects the Turmoil of War]]> http://www.fandm.edu/news/article/dance-performance-reflects-the-turmoil-of-war

Common Hour presentation "Moving Souls: Dance For Its Time" highlights excerpts from works by modern dancers and choreographers Isadora Duncan and Martha Graham.

]]>
Fri, 14 Nov 2014 14:51:00 -0500
<![CDATA[Faculty Panel Weighs What The Mid-Term Election Means]]> http://www.fandm.edu/news/article/faculty-panel-weighs-what-the-mid-term-election-means

In the wake of a mid-term election that saw Republicans wrest away from Democrats control orf both houses of Congress, a panel of Franklin & Marshall College faculty offered insights Nov. 10 into what may happen during the next two years.

]]>
Tue, 11 Nov 2014 18:06:00 -0500
<![CDATA[Students Brush Up on Community Service at Milagro House]]> http://www.fandm.edu/news/article/students-brush-up-on-community-service-at-milagro-house

Taking a break from mid-semester studies, a group of Franklin & Marshall College students spent a recent Saturday helping prepare a stately brick Victorian home, just a few blocks from campus, become a shelter for homeless women and children.

]]>
Mon, 10 Nov 2014 11:32:00 -0500
<![CDATA[Northwest Gateway Project Preps to Enter Stretch Run]]> http://www.fandm.edu/news/article/northwest-gateway-project-preps-to-enter-stretch-run

The reclamation and revitalization of a 28-acre tract north of Harrisburg Avenue is on track to be completed by next summer, clearing the way for Franklin & Marshall College to begin developing its North Campus late next year.

 
]]>
Fri, 07 Nov 2014 15:34:00 -0500
<![CDATA[Debate Society Now Ranks Among Highest in Nation]]> http://www.fandm.edu/news/article/debate-society-now-ranks-among-highest-in-nation

Within the span of two months, F&M's Debating Society defeated Yale University at a Baltimore tournament, the only team there to do so other than Harvard University, then went on to record a tournament victory at George Washington University that lifted the Diplomats' ranking to No. 10 in the nation.

]]>
Fri, 07 Nov 2014 14:18:13 -0500
<![CDATA[Seeing A Nation's History Through A Global Lens]]> http://www.fandm.edu/news/article/seeing-a-nation-s-history-through-a-global-lens

As he showed a photograph of a massive ossuary containing the skeletal remains of tens of thousands of French and German soldiers, Mueller Fellow and Yale University Historian Jay Winter asked a Common Hour audience on Oct. 30, "Who can tell the difference between the French and German soldiers who died there?" 

 
]]>
Thu, 30 Oct 2014 16:25:00 -0400