Franklin & Marshall College Franklin & Marshall College

    • u-h-d714cf72946e-jpg
    • u-h-0c0c3b8ce36f-jpg
    • u-h-efbe58c1f2f9-jpg

2007-2008 Colloquia

Unless otherwise noted, all talks take place at 4:30 p.m. in Hackman 218.

Fri Sep 28  

F&M Autumn Research Fair
Location: Barshinger Life Sciences Building
Time: 12:30-4:30 p.m.

Wed Oct 3

Larry Marschall - Gettysburg College
Title: "The Supernova Story"
Location: North Museum
Time: 7:00-9:00 p.m.

Sun Oct 21

Carla Bitter - University of Arizona
Title: "The Phoenix Mars Lander Mission"
Location: North Museum
Time: 3:00-4:00 p.m.

Thu Oct 25

F&M Student Research Talks:
Time: 12:00-1:00 p.m.
Arpita Roy '09 - "Continuing Efforts to Quantify the Bull's Eye Effect Using the Candy Model"
Chase Morgan '08 - "Search for Long-period Pulsations in Arecibo Survey Data"
Brian Devour '10 - "Single Pulse Search of Pulsar Survey Data"
Becky Sobel '08 - "Cosmic Neutrinos, Cherenkov Radiation, and the Lunar Surface"

Wed Feb 6

Fronefield Crawford - Franklin & Marshall College
Title: "Stellar Death"
Location: North Museum
Time: 7:00-9:00 p.m.

Thu Feb 14

Derek Fox - Penn State University
Title: "The Nature of Short-Hard Gamma-Ray Bursts"
Time: 4:00-5:00 p.m.

Thu Feb 28

Shengfeng Cheng - Johns Hopkins University
Title: "Dynamics of Moving Contact Lines: Effect of Interface Width and Slip"

Wed Mar 26

Christie Larochelle - Franklin & Marshall College
Title: "PET Scans, Homeland Security, and the F&M Physics Department: A Scintillating Connection?"
Location: Academy Room, Shadek-Fackenthal Library
Time: 4:30-5:30 p.m.

Thu Mar 27

Michael Niemack - Princeton University
Title: "Probing Dark Energy: Measurements of the Big Bang with Superconducting Bolometric Cameras"

Thu Apr 3

Greg Adkins - Franklin & Marshall College
Title: "The New Quantum Universe"
Location: Stahr Auditorium, Stager Hall
Time: 4:30-5:30 p.m.

Thu Apr 10

Fiona Burnell - Princeton University
Title: "Ultracold Atomic Bose Gases in One Dimension: Mott Insulators, Superfluids, and the Devil's Staircase"

Sat Apr 12

CPC Astronomers Meeting
Location: Barshinger Life Sciences Building (at F&M)
Time: 9:00 a.m.-4:00 p.m.