Franklin & Marshall College Franklin & Marshall College

The Provost and Dean of the Faculty is the chief academic officer of the College and is responsible to the President and the Board of Trustees for the following areas of College life: faculty personnel matters, including recruitment and faculty pool diversity, faculty evaluation, and development; the curriculum, its policies and standards, and the faculty; this also includes Libraries, Registrar, Institutional Research, Phillips Museum, Writers House, Floyd Institute, Wohlsen Center, Writing Center, Center for the Liberal Arts and Society, Postgraduate Fellowships, the Joseph International Center and Office of International Programs, and the Central Pennsylvania Consortium.  The Provost also serves as Middle States Association liaison.

The Provost is supported by two associate Deans, the Vice President for Planning and Vice Provost, and other staff.

Like the President, the Provost serves ex officio on all faculty committees. The Provost chairs the Professional Standards Committee, and either the Provost or the Provost's designee serves on Faculty Council, the Educational Policy Committee, and the Budget Priorities Committee. The Provost also serves on the Academic Affairs and the Facilities Planning and Public Safety Committees of the Board of Trustees and on other Trustee committees as requested.

In July, 2013, Dr. Joseph Karlesky, the Honorable and Mrs. John C. Kunkel Professor of Government at Franklin & Marshall College, became Interim Provost and Dean of the Faculty, succeeding Ann Steiner.