What is the Rouse Scholarship?

Current Scholars and alumni after Rouse dinner.

Starting in 2004 and endowed by Trustee Emeritus Andrew Rouse '49, the Rouse Scholarship is awarded to two students per graduating class.  The Scholarship covers the cost of tuition, books and some other miscellaneous expenses; in addition, Rouse Scholars have the opportunity to receive up to $3000 of support for leadership projects in conjunction with the Rouse program.

Faculty, House Dons & Deans and coaches nominate students who have demonstrated unusual leadership while at Franklin & Marshall while also achieving academic success.

Rouse Scholar Recipients

2021     Reese Lemke & Cheska Perez

2020     Mira Lerner & Hargobind Vohra

2019     Jael Lewis & Tyler Schubert

2018      Jennifer Deasy & Saliyah George

2017     Cecilia Plaza & Dustin Smith

2016     Julia Fleisch & Fatoumata Keita

2015     Rachel Codkind & Mark Harmon-Vaught

2014     Michael Haines & Sarah Mills

2013     Andrew Foley & Nora Theodore


2012     Carra Kramer & Mona Lotfipour

2011     Robert "Lewie" Briggs & Johanna Schein

2010    Benjamin Berg & Anatoli Karas

2009     Molly Briere, Kalasia Daniels & Heather van der Grinten

2008     Matthew Guthier & Lindsey Nye

2007     Layne Amerikaner & Lindsey Harteis

2006     Jane Bee & Sara Beltz

2005     Jared Policicchio & Jamie Tyrrell

2004     Danielle Anglade Crookes & Natalie Flora Tibbels

Graduating Scholar Book Choice

2019          The Other Wes Moore: One Name, Two Fates; Wes Moore

                     Jael Lewis and Tyer Schubert

2018          The Happiness Project; Gretchen Rubin

                      Jennifer Deasy and Saliyah George

2017           The Book of Joy; 14th Dalai Lama, Desmond Tutu, Douglas Carlton Abrams

                       Cecelia Plaza and Dustin Smith

2016           Americanah; Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

                      Julia Fleisch and Fatoumata Keita

2015           The Meaning of It All: Thoughts of a Citizen Scientist;  Richard Feynman

                       Rachel Codkind and Mark Harmon-Vaught

2014           The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao; Junot Diaz

                       Michael Haines and Sarah Mills

2013           The Elegance of the Hedgehog; Muriel Barbery

                      Andrew V. Foley and  Nora Theodore 

2012           The Prophet; Kahlil Gibran

                       Carra Kramer and Mona Lotfipour

2011           The Higher Law; Thoreau on Civil Disobedience and Reform; Henry D. Thoreau

                       Robert “Lewie” Briggs and Johanna Schein

2010           Mountains Beyond Mountains, The Quest of Dr. Paul Farmer, A Man Who Would                                 Cure The World; Tracy Kidder

                      Benjamin Berg and Anatoli Karas

2009           The Presentation of Self in Everyday Life; Erving Goffman

                       Molly Briere and Kalasia Daniels and Heather van der Grinten

2008           The Social Contract and the Discourses; Jean-Jacques Rousseau

                        Matthew Guthier and Lindsey Nye 

2007           My American Century; Studs Terkel

                       Layne Amerikaner and Lindsey Harteis 

2006           Hershey: Milton S. Hershey’s Extraordinary Life of Wealth, Empire, and Utopian                                Dreams; Michael D’Antonio

                       Jane Bee and Sara Beltz 

2005           Collapse: How Societies Choose to Fail or Succeed; Jared Diamond

                       Jared Policicchio and Jamie Tyrrell 

2004           The Power of One; Bryce Courtney

                       Danielle Anglade and Natalie Flora