After 80 years of faithful service to the Franklin & Marshall community, Scholl Observatory was razed in October 1966 to make way for construction of the Pfeiffer Science Center. The observatory's unique steel dome had been hand-constructed in Dublin, Ireland, at a cost of $2,000 and shipped to the United States in the summer of 1886. With the dome removed, Scholl's 11-inch Clark-Repsold refracting telescope was extracted for modernization by the Wilmot Engineering Company of Philadelphia. In November 1967, the refurbished German telescope was installed in the newly constructed Grundy Observatory on Baker Campus.
Christopher Raab, Archives & Special Collections Librarian