9/14/2011 Magazine Staff

F&M Celebrates the Class of 2011

Franklin & Marshall welcomed several thousand guests for its 224th Commencement ceremony on Saturday, May 14,in the Alumni Sports & Fitness Center.

The ceremony included 541 members of the Class of 2011, of which 16 students graduated summa cum laude, 59 magna cum laude and 87 cum laude.

  • The Class of 2011 celebrates on May 14. The Class of 2011 celebrates on May 14.

The proceedings marked the first F&M Commencement for President Daniel R. Porterfield, Ph.D., who joined the College on March 1. Porterfield outlined the many ways the graduates “made meaning” at F&M, thanking them for all they have given to the College community.

“All who work here, especially those who have taught you, tested you, and watched you grow—we believe in you,” Porterfield said. “We have faith in you. Remember that. Whatever turns life takes, especially when you dwell in doubt, remember. Your mentors here at Franklin & Marshall, we know you, we believe in you, and we have faith in you.”

Sen. Richard G. Lugar, the U.S. Senate’s most senior Republican, served as Commencement speaker. Lugar spoke about the fundamental changes in the world that have transformed lives and perspectives, noting that this class is the last one in which most graduates were born before the fall of the Berlin Wall. He also spoke about the virtues of a liberal arts education, encouraging students to dedicate themselves to a lifetime of learning.

  • President Daniel R. Porterfield, Ph.D., congratulates Williamson Medalist Chelsea Schein ’11. President Daniel R. Porterfield, Ph.D., congratulates Williamson Medalist Chelsea Schein ’11.

Chelsea Schein ’11, a scientific & philosophical studies of mind major and psychology minor, received the Williamson Medal, the College’s highest award for a graduating senior.

Franklin & Marshall honored, in absentia, Carol Auster, professor of sociology, with the Lindback Distinguished Teaching Award. Anthony Chemero, associate professor of psychology and scientific and philosophical studies of mind, received the Bradley R. Dewey Award for Outstanding Scholarship.

The College also recognized two retiring faculty members with Socrates Citations: Dick Fluck, associate dean of the faculty and Dr. E. Paul and Frances H. Reiff Professor of Biology, and Anton Ugolnik, Dr. Elijah E. Kresge Professor of English. Lisa Stillwell, information literacy librarian and associate librarian, received the Richard Kneedler Distinguished Service Award.

In addition to Lugar, those receiving honorary degrees were Akinwumi Adesina, Ph.D., P’08; Eugene Braunwald, M.D., G’11; Ariel Dorfman; and Donald K. Hess ’52.

To read the citations and see videos of the event, go to http://www.fandm.edu/commencement. For a full photo gallery, go to www.flickr.com/photos/fandm/sets.
Story 10/18/2013

Syria Takes Center Stage

Nearly 200 Franklin & Marshall College students, faculty, professional staff and members of the...

Read More
Story 10/17/2013

F&M in the News

Franklin & Marshall people, events and ideas regularly make news. Here are some recent headlines...

Read More
Story 10/17/2013

F&M Begins Campus Discussion on Arming Officers

Franklin & Marshall recently began a campus discussion exploring whether to arm its Department of...

Read More