About the Search

On November 30, 2017, President Dan Porterfield announced that he will become the next President and CEO of the Aspen Institute on June 1, 2018.  The Chair of Franklin & Marshall’s Board of Trustees, Sue Washburn ’73, thanked President Porterfield for his extraordinary leadership of the College, and immediately launched the search for his successor, who will become F&M’s 16th President.

This website is designed to share information about the search and provide ways that everyone in the wider Franklin & Marshall College community can contribute their ideas and perspectives.  For current updates, please view our Presidential Search Committee Messages to the Community.

Trustee Eric Noll ’83, P’09 will chair the Presidential Search Committee, which comprises Trustees and F&M faculty members, students, and members of the College’s professional staff.  The Committee is charged to recommend to the Board of Trustees one candidate who is highly qualified to lead Franklin & Marshall College in the coming years.  The Board retains the final right to ratify and appoint the President.

The College has engaged Storbeck/Pimentel & Associates to facilitate the search. Storbeck/Pimentel is a renowned executive search firm that focuses on the higher education sector and has conducted many successful searches for Franklin & Marshall, including the presidential searches that brought the College President John Fry and President Porterfield. Read the full search prospectus.

The search will be conducted with careful attention to, and significant input from, the College’s many constituencies. We encourage all F&M students, faculty and professional staff members, alumni, parents and friends to share your suggestions and make nominations either through the links provided on this website or via forums the Search Committee will sponsor in early 2018 on campus and in other major metropolitan areas.

Please feel free to share comments or questions with the committee via email at presidentialsearch@fandm.edu or by completing the survey below.

As one of the nation’s oldest educational institutions, Franklin & Marshall has a proud history of presidential leadership. Each of our distinguished leaders has left an indelible mark on this great college. We can look forward to our next chapter together and to building on our remarkable momentum.

Prospectus for Candidates for President of the College

Read the full prospectus
Presidential Search Committee Members 

Eric W. Noll ’83, P’09, Trustee

Vice Chairs 

H. Art Taylor, Esq. ’80, LL.D., Trustee
Susan L. Washburn ’73, Chair, Board of Trustees


Doug Anthony, Associate Professor of History; Program Chair, International Studies
Bruce Balestier, Campaign Director and Principal Gifts Officer
Modia J. Butler ’95, Trustee
Matthew N. DesChamps ’93, Trustee
Dr. Joan M. Fallon ’79, Trustee
Janet M. Fischer, Ph.D., Professor of Biology; Program Chair, Environmental Science
Shakelya Flores ’18
John W. Greene, Jr. ’99, Trustee
Elaine Tuttle Hansen, Trustee
Gretchen E. Meyers, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Classics; Chair, Classics; Chair, Faculty Council
Tyler Schubert ’19
Frances Donnelly Wolf ’96, Trustee
Renee E. Yoder, Assistant to the Vice President, Office of Admission

Staff Liaison:

Robyn L. Piggott, Chief of Staff and Secretary of the College