Peter and Irene Seadle Award

The Seadle Award supports a language course, special project or internship in a German-speaking country.  Recipients, selected by the Department of German and Russian, must be non-native speakers of German who have completed their sophomore year, demonstrate a serious interest in German language and culture, and have successfully taken courses through the German 202 level.

Delta Phi Alpha National German Honor Society

The Tau Gamma Chapter of Delta Phi Alpha, the National German Honor Society, was established at Franklin &  Marshall in 2013. Each spring, the F&M chapter inducts new members from among its high-achieving German majors and minors at a special Raclette dinner. 

M. Joseph Buehrle Prize

The award was founded in 1910 by R. K. Buehrle, Ph.D., former superintendent of the public schools of Lancaster.  This award is presented to the member of the senior class who passes the most satisfactory examination in the German language.