Student Awards in American Studies

The J. Fred and Nancy B. Sener Prize for American Studies is awarded to the graduating senior who does the most outstanding work in American Studies.

The John A. Andrew III Award is given in honor of Professor Andrew, who taught American history at F&M (1973-2000). A renowned scholar, Professor Andrew was deeply involved in the College and the community. His family and friends established this award to recognize a student who exemplifies the commitment to scholarship and service that Professor Andrew embodied. The prize is designed for a rising senior majoring in History or American Studies "who exhibits an outstanding work ethic, interest and enthusiasm in that field of study." 

AMS Award Winners 


Sener: Susan Spina
Andrew: Wyatt Behringer and Thomas Fogel Burlan


Sener: Shannon Ricchetti and Emilie Woods
Andrew: Susan Spina


Sener: Leah Brenner
Andrew: Emily Hawk


Sener: Michael Haines
Andrew: Leah Brenner





Sener: Alexis Teevens
Andrew: Alexia Tomlinson


Sener: Matthew Latessa
Andrew: Alexis Teevens 


Sener: Caitlin Black and Johanna Schein


Andrew: Chad D. Wright


Andrew: Anna R. Lippe and Thomas C. DeMaio