FALL 2017 

Sound Horizons Concert Series
Tickets to the Sound Horizons Concert Series are available through the online box office (www.fandm.edu/box-office) or by calling 717-358-4858. Season tickets are available. All concerts are open to the public.

Friday, September 15, 7 p.m.
F&M Music Faculty Recital
Barshinger Center for the Musical Arts.  
Tickets: $10 Adults; $5 F&M Community; $1 ALL students with ID
The recital  will feature the Music Department's African drum and percussion instructors along with the wind, string, and vocal classical and jazz instructors. This is a 75-minute event without intermission.

Sunday, November 5, 3 p.m. - SOLD OUT
Bela Fleck and Abigail Washburn
Barshinger Center for the Musical Arts
Tickets: $15 Adults; $10 F&M Community;  $5 ALL students with ID.
Fourteen-time Grammy Award Winner Bela Fleck and his wife Abigail Washburn were deemed "the king and queen of the banjo" by Paste Magazine.

Ensemble Concerts
All F&M ensemble concerts are held in the Barshinger Center for the Musical Arts, unless otherwise noted. Concerts are free and open to the public. No tickets are required.

Friday, October 20, 8 p.m.
Spectrum Concert for Homecoming/Family Weekend
F&M Orchestra, Jazz Ensemble, Philharmonia, Symphonic Wind Ensemble, Chamber Music, African Drumming Ensemble, and soloists present a unique performance moving from piece to piece with no pause.

Saturday, October 21, 8 p.m.
Homecoming--Family Weekend Choral Concert
A concert of choral music and vocal solos
Franklin & Marshall College Chorus and Chamber Singers

Saturday, October 28, 8 p.m.
F&M Philharmonia
It’s a Miracle
Haydn, Symphony No. 96 (“Miracle”); J.S. Bach, Brandenburg Concerto No. 3

Friday, November 10, 8 p.m.
F&M Symphonic Wind Ensemble
Genesis
Bremmer, Early Light; Van der Roost, Canterbury Chorale; Chance, Incantation and Dance; Torke, Javelin; Gillingham, Symphony No. 2 (“Genesis”); Yagisawa, Machu Picchu

Saturday, November 11, 8 p.m.
F&M Orchestra
The Reformation
Beethoven, Overture to Fidelio; Dvorak, The Water Goblin; Higdon, Blue Cathedral; Mendelssohn, Symphony No. 5 (“Reformation”)

Sunday, November 12, 3 p.m.
F&M African Drumming Ensemble concert

Thursday, November 30, 11:30 a.m.
Common Hour 
F&M Orchestra
Music of Susie Benchasil Seiter ‘99
Mayser Gymnasium

Saturday, November 18, 8 p.m.
F&M Jazz Ensemble concert

Sunday, November 19, 3 p.m.
An Afternoon of Chamber Music
F&M Chamber Music Ensembles

Saturday, December 2, 8:30 p.m.
F&M Symphonic Wind Ensemble and Orchestra
Music for Movies, Video Games & December
Music of Susie Benchasil Seiter ‘99 and others

Sunday, December 3, 3 p.m.
Holiday Choral Concert
Franklin & Marshall College Chorus and Chamber Singers

 

SPRING 2018

Sunday, January 21, 7 p.m.
Solo and Concerto Competition
Winners invited to perform with the F&M Philharmonia on March 3

Saturday, February 3, 8 p.m.
Super Bowl Cultural Warm-Up
F&M Philharmonia
Mahler, Symphony No. 6

Saturday, March 3, 8 p.m.
Solos and Symphonies
F&M Philharmonia
Winners of the Solo and Concerto Competition
Mozart, Symphony No. 38 (“Prague”)

Sunday, March 4, 3 p.m.
Chamber Singers Tour Preview Concert
F&M College Chorus and Chamber Singers

Friday, April 6, 8 p.m.
New Day Rising
F&M Symphonic Wind Ensemble
Saucedo, Windsprints; Dello Joio, Scenes from the Louvre; Lehman, The Path (premiere); Ogren, Symphonies of Gaia; Reineke, Symphony No. 1 (“New Day Rising”)

Saturday, April 7, 8 p.m.
Fantastique
F&M Orchestra
Mozart, Overture to Die Entfuhrung aus dem Serail; Curiale, Wind River; Hovhaness, And God Created Great Whales; Berlioz, Symphony Fantastique

Sunday, April 8, 3 p.m.
An Afternoon of Chamber Music
F&M Chamber Music Society                           

Friday, April 13, 8 p.m.
F&M Jazz Ensemble Concert

Sunday, April 15, 3 p.m.
F&M African Drumming Ensemble Concert

Saturday, April 21, 8 p.m.
Violin Concert featuring Michelle Pan
F&M Philharmonia
Prokofiev, Violin Concerto No. 1; Saint-Saens, Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso; Wieniawski, Légende

Sunday, April 22, 3 p.m.
F&M College Chorus and Chamber Singers

Wednesday, April 25, 8 p.m.
Conductors Concert
F&M Orchestra and Symphonic Wind Ensemble
Featuring conductors from Brian Norcross’ conducting class