Join Us For Our Annual Events

  • featuring Alice McDermott

The Hausman Lecture Series

Established through an endowment by Richard Hausman ’50, P'85 and Edna Hausman P'85, the Hausman Lecture has brought prominent writers to campus for lectures, readings and workshops since 1982.

Past Hausman Lecturers have included:
2019-2020 Alice McDermott
2018-2019 Eileen Myles
2017-2018  Nick Flynn
2016-2017  Chang-rae Lee
2015-2016  Edwidge Danticat
2014-2015 Jennifer Egan
​2013-2014  Louise Glück
2012-2013  Diane Ackerman
2011-2012  Amy Tan
2010-2011  Robert Hass                          
2009-2010  Amy Bloom                              
2008-2009 Yusef Komunyakaa                                   
2007-2008  Naomi Shihab Nye                     
2006-2007  Barry Lopez                          
2005-2006  David Foster Wallace                 
2004-2005  Frank McCourt 
2003-2004  Ellen Gillchrist                                         ​2002-2003  Billy Collins 
2001-2002  Michael Ondaatje                      
2000-2001  Robert Pinsky                        
1999-2000  Ama Ata Aidoo                        
1998-1999  Charles Simic                           
1997-1998  Anna Quindlen                       
1996-1997  William Styron                       
1995-1996  Robert Pack                              
1994-1995  Maya Angelou                            
1993-1994  Joyce Carol Oates                      
1992-1993  William Snodgrass                      
1991-1992  Mary Gordon       
1990-1991  John Edgar Wideman
1989-1990  Stanley Kunitz
1988-1989  Gwendolyn Brooks
1987-1988  John Barth
1986-1987  E. L. Doctorow
1985-1986  Chezlaw Milosz
1984-1985  Denise Levertov
1982-1983  Jorges Luis Borges
1981-1982  Paul Theroux 

  • Hausman 35 years logo
  • List of Emerging Writers Festival featured writers

Emerging Writers Festival

The Emerging Writers Festival at Franklin & Marshall College is a three-day celebration of the work of talented and promising younger American writers. Each year, the Festival brings five fine younger writers to campus in April, giving them opportunities to mix often and informally with students and with one another.  

The Emerging Writers Festival is generously supported by Richard Hausman '50, P'85 and Edna Hausman P'85, parents of a Franklin & Marshall graduate and tireless and generous supporters of the arts at the College.

For more information about the Emerging Writers Festival, visit its webpage by clicking here.

  • EWF Logo
  • 2021 Bank Visiting Writer and judge of the 2021 Jerome Irving Bank Memorial Short Story Prize

Jerome Irving Bank Memorial Short Story Prize Reading

The Jerome Irving Bank Memorial Short Story Prize was endowed by Lawrence H. Bank, Esq. '65 to honor and preserve the memory of his late brother, Jerome Irving Bank, Esq., a graduate of Hobart College and of the New York University School of Law.  Jerome Irving Bank always wanted to be a writer, but died before realizing this dream. Lawrence Bank hopes the contest will encourage students to take a chance by following a dream, something that he, too, wishes he had tried a long time ago.

The Bank Visiting Writer judges the prize submissions, visits Franklin & Marshall College during the spring semester to meet the prize winner and runner-up, leads an afternoon craft talk with students and offers an evening reading.

Past Bank Visiting Writers have included:
2019-2020 Caitlin Horrocks
2018-2019  Carolyn Ferrell
2017-2018  Carmen Maria Machado
2016-2017  Eric Puchner
2015-2016  Robin Black
2014-2015  Pete Rock
2013-2014  Rick Moody
2012-2013  Hannah Tinti
2011-2012  Kevin Brockmeier
2010-2011  Charles D'Ambrosio
2009-2010  Dan Chaon
2008-2009  Lewis Robinson
2007-2008  Ryan Harty
2006-2007  Michael Griffith
2005-2006  Cathy Day
2004-2005  Michael Byers